Skip to content

The Alchemist

April 6, 2013

the alchemistHello everyone and welcome to The D-Dan Reviews! Today I’ll be giving a review on a book that takes you on a journey in and of itself. The book is called The Alchemist. This book is about  an Andalusian shepherd boy named Santiago who believes a recurring dream to be prophetic about him finding a treasure. Along the way Santiago meets, a king, a merchant, and an alchemist who all help him through his life changing journey.

Let me just start off by saying, what a good book! I am not one for  books about philosophy and things of that topic, but this book was a good teaching tool for me and I’m glad I read it. First reason why I liked this book is because it told a continuous story and taught me life changing lessons at the same time. So I was entertained. Next it had drama, something that always keeps the reader interested. The thing is the way they put the drama in the story was nice, but when the book went back to teaching you something you were still reading for drama. So your brain isn’t prepared for a lesson therefore you might zone out and have to go back and read what you missed.

The third and best part about this book is the lessons you learn. I remember reading this book and even though it had many lessons, they all related to one important thing. It’s that people do not like change and once you do give it a try it is so easy to give up. I’ve seen in my school that people don’t want change, there afraid of it. My friend at school is moving soon and she was sad about leaving. She said that she was mad that she was going to change her way of living from American to Mexican. They express in this book so many times in different stories about people who don’t want to change their way of business and don’t want to leave their line of work because they know how to do it and it’s safe. It’s just amazing to see how this lesson destroys dreams in this story and it’s amazing to see how it relates to your life

All in all I’d rate this book a NUCLEAR.  It’s a great book if you’re looking for something to enlighten you. That’s what I was looking for in this book, and it just so happens that that’s what this book has.Well that’s all for today, come back next week for another review! Until next time this is The D-Dan Reviews!!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

