Skip to content

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

November 22, 2013

catching-fire-movie-posterHello everybody and welcome to The D-Dan Reviews! Now I’m pretty sure it’s obvious what I’m reviewing, but just in case, today I will be reviewing Hunger Games: Catching Fire!! In this second part to the continuing three part saga, Katniss ( Jennifer Lawrence) and Peeta (Josh Hutcherson) return home as victors of the 74th Hunger Games, but the victory is not celebrated for long as Katniss and Peeta get thrown back into the Hunger Games as apart of a rule invoked by authorities and again Katniss must survive as a symbol of hope, but the question is, will she?

Ok guys so let’s get real here for a second, movies will never be as good as the books, matter of fact I haven’t seen one yet, so I can’t judge this movie completely based on the book. But even if I did, I’d still think the movie was great! They really hit it out of the park with this one! First of all, thank you producers and editors for putting some music in this one because I don’t know if it was just me, but the first movie felt kind of awkward at times because of the lack of music. For example, at the reaping when Katniss volunteered herself as tribute, it was really weird how they did that with no music. Anyway, they didn’t do that in this movie and this one I felt moved at an excellent pace compared to the last one.

Even if you were tired, you stayed awake the whole movie because it was so intense!! I’m telling you, the acting was on point, especially Jennifer Lawrence (she really sold the whole in love thing!) I feel like the action, effects, and the dialogue of this movie were better than the last movie, But it doesn’t stop there because the best part about this movie was that the story was told really well! Extremely well.

As for the movie following the book, it did a pretty good job, they could have done better if the movie was longer. I mean it was about two and a half hour’s but I’m pretty sure everybody in the theater, including myself wanted more. I mean, I really savored every moment of that book while I was reading it. I also savored the movie, I just wish they put a little bit more of the book in the movie. They also made the movie really understandable for non Hunger Game reader’s, so if you didn’t read the book, you’ll get the concept and enjoy the movie. There are a few moments from the book left out in case any die-hard fans wanted to know, but nothing major.

All in all I’d give this movie a NUCLEAR!!! It’s sad, it’s funny, it’s action packed, but most of all it’s great for the family and you’ll definitely want to see over again. Make sure to follow me on Twitter and Facebook!! Until next time this is The D-Dan Reviews!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Obi E. permalink
    November 22, 2013 6:49 pm

    Whoa! This makes me want to go watch the movie right now. Nice Review!

  2. November 22, 2013 8:02 pm

    I’m seeing this 2 morrow so excited!

  3. thomas curry permalink
    November 23, 2013 3:48 pm

    It’s always a wonder why the movie is different then the book. There should be a reason why.

  4. nicolas h permalink
    November 23, 2013 6:43 pm

    cool i didn’t know you had a website.

    • November 25, 2013 7:35 am

      This is jesse from ms Reynolds class saying I enjoyed this movie very much it was interesting

  5. November 23, 2013 11:52 pm

    Hi there,I checked your article named “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire | The D-Dan Reviews” regularly. Your story-telling style is awesome, keep it up! And you can check my website about 蝙蝠俠.

  6. Sienna Sanders permalink
    November 24, 2013 7:30 pm

    I saw this movie yesterday and I thought it was amazing! The people I was with didn’t know what was going to happen but by reading the books prior to seeing the movie, I knew pretty much everything that was going to happen. It took away some of the excitement of the movie but it was still very good. I can’t wait for the next one.

  7. Phillip H permalink
    November 24, 2013 7:37 pm

    Loved the movies so much it makes me want to read the books

  8. Devin W. permalink
    November 24, 2013 7:37 pm

    It’s a great review now I’m going to go see it sometime this week thanks

  9. Ahlea Brown permalink
    November 24, 2013 8:10 pm

    Good review

  10. Clemence A permalink
    November 24, 2013 8:16 pm

    This was really good and detailed. it makes me want to go watch the movie, Thanks! Great review

  11. Judy L. permalink
    November 24, 2013 8:50 pm

    Great Review !

  12. Tikeea permalink
    November 24, 2013 9:43 pm

    I think it was a good movie but i like the books a lot better.

  13. Taylor permalink
    November 24, 2013 10:27 pm

    Great review! I just saw the movie over the weekend. You nailed it !

  14. November 24, 2013 11:27 pm

    Thanks for the Insite for the movie . I’ve yet to experience the movie but thanks to your review I’m even more excited to see it

  15. Sarah Behringer permalink
    November 25, 2013 8:02 am

    I saw this movie and I thought it was really good. I was a little confused at times because I haven’t read the books. But since ie heard they’re better I should read them

  16. Justin Nwosu permalink
    November 25, 2013 1:19 pm

    This review wa amazing! This really makes me want to see the film now! I can’t wait!

  17. Stephanie C. permalink
    November 25, 2013 7:37 pm

    Nice Review

Leave a Reply

