Skip to content

Saving Mr. Banks

December 27, 2013

saving mr. banksHello everyone and welcome to The D-Dan Reviews! As part of a Christmas tradition, my family and I go to the movies. This year we went to see a very heart warming film called Saving Mr. Banks. this movie is about how  Author P. L. Travers reflects on her  childhood while meeting with filmmaker Walt Disney during production for the adaptation of her novel, Mary Poppins.

Now when I saw that this was coming out, I thought, “well this looks interesting”.  I didn’t really want to see it in theatres but let me just say, that I’m glad I did. Movies that move as slow as this one did don’t usually hold my attention, but for some reason I didn’t lose focus of the movie once! It was really good! Sure it wasn’t an action movie and it was slow, but it was entertaining and funny and a very well told story. So well told in fact, that I wanted to see the actual Mary Poppins when the movie was over.

I think the fact that this movie was based of a true story is what really had me interested, but if they didn’t tell the story well, I wouldn’t have liked this movie at all. I mean sure the acting was spectacular, especially  Paul Giamatti. He brought this sort of happiness to the film and just made you want to love him. Also Tom Hanks was very nice; But the thing that was going to make or break this movie was how well the story was told and trust me, the way they told the story made the movie.

It was very calm way they told the story, peaceful, with it’s moments of scare and sadness. It flowed very nicely and left little cliff hangers that would later be explained in the movie. Also each scene had a bit of comedy and realization of P.L Traver’s story which I thoroughly enjoyed.

All in all I’d give this movie a NUCLEAR!!! What made this movie great was the unfolding of a secret behind a well known classic and that, honestly, was all this movie needed to be good. The other things such as acting, scenery, and pace factored in my head later and altogether made a great movie. Make sure to comment on my page and subscribe, follow me on Twitter and Facebook and leave a comment for the next review you want to see! Until next time, this is The D-Dan Reviews.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2014 8:20 am

    Good day very nice website!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful ..
    I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds also?
    I’m happy to find a lot of useful information
    here in the publish, we want work out more strategies on this
    regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

Leave a Reply

