Skip to content

Robocop

February 15, 2014

robocopHello everyone and welcome to The D-Dan Reviews today was a great day for me and one of the reasons why is because today I saw the movie Robocop! For those who don’t know, Robocop is set in 2028 Detroit, and  when Alex Murphy (Joel Kinnaman) – a loving husband, father and good cop – is critically injured in the line of duty, the multimillion dollar company OmniCorp, sees their chance for a part-man, part-robot police officer.

Now for starters I like the idea and I like the concept of a society in which a part man, part robot is looked upon as a sort of saving grace. What I don’t like is that this has been done before and you know it can get old. But that didn’t really take anything away from this movie, at least not for me. Now I had never seen any of the other Robocop movies, but I did do some research and I found that they were all pretty much the same premise. So sure maybe the story wasn’t exactly unique, but it was still an entertaining story. How they told it could have been done better though. It was a little to complicated for its own good and not exactly the easiest story to follow. So little things like that are what turned me away from the movie. Some parts in the storytelling were unnecessary in the overall story and there were some questions I had at the end. This is what I expected from a movie like this though.

Now the action is pretty much what I came to see. Forget the story and how it was told aspect, it could have been better, the action was what saved this movie for me. The fight scenes were phenomenal, they were intense, eye popping, well done, and what I most loved about them is that they were pretty much done like a video game. When Joel Kinnaman pulled out his gun and took on his enemies, for the majority of the movie you saw the action from a first person point of view and it was truly entertaining. It was visually stunning and the choreography was great.

All in all I’d give this movie a FIREWORKS (3 out of 5). Honestly if I weren’t a movie reviewer I wouldn’t have seen this in theatre, but in the end I’m glad I did because it was a pretty good movie.  I wanted there to be a deep story that I could get into and enjoy, but I didn’t really see that happening which is why when it didn’t happen it wasn’t all that disappointing. The action and the story balanced the movie out for me. I don’t really suggest you give up your time to go see this movie in theatre, but you should definitely see it on DVD or TV. Kids would love to see this, I’m talking 12 and up, and its a great Saturday night action movie. Don’t forget to subscribe to my page, also go like me up on Facebook and follow me on Twitter. I’m going to be reviewing a lot more with all the movies coming out and I cant wait to write about them. Until next time, this is The D-Dan Reviews!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

