Skip to content

Divergent

March 22, 2014

divergentHello everyone and welcome to The D-Dan Reviews!! As some of you may know, Divergent came out this weekend,  and this of course is a must see for me! Now most of you who care about this movie have probably read the book. This review, my faithful followers, is just the movie review. You can catch my movie vs. book review on YouTube by clicking the link. Ok so for those of you who have never heard of, looked at a trailer, or even thought about this movie, Divergent is set in a world divided by factions based on virtues, and Tris (Shalene Woodley)   learns she’s divergent and won’t fit in to any of them. When she discovers a plot to destroy divergent people, Tris and the mysterious Four must find out what makes Divergent’s dangerous before it’s too late.

Ok, when I first saw this trailer, I said to myself, “Well this doesn’t actually look all that interesting.” Granted I had never read the book before and didn’t care to until I saw the movie was coming out. They didn’t really do a good job advertising to the people who hadn’t heard of Divergent before. Maybe that’s not who they were selling to though, I don’t know. Anyway, I’m here to tell you that Divergent was a pretty good movie!

I can say wholeheartedly that I will watch this movie again and enjoy it the second time as well.  The movie did a really great job of explaining everything important to the audience, so your pretty much right along with the people who read the book. The reason I say that this movie was pretty good is because everything was just about average and a little bit above “ok”. The acting was majority average, with a few powerful moments from Shalene Woodley. The fighting was average, the dialogue was comedic, but majority average. The only thing I really just didn’t like in this movie, was the pacing of it all.

Everything kind of felt rushed, and it took away some of the emotion from a scene. It also kind of took away from character development, so when something bad happened to a character, I didn’t really feel much. But I can’t really go too far into that. This problem is probably more for people who read the book. Now strangely enough, looking at it from a point of view of never reading the book, the character development was excellently done. It moved just fast enough for you to understand the characters and feel sad when something unfortunate happened. Even if that character wasn’t in half the movie.

All in all I’d give this movie a FIREWORKS (3 out of 5)! It was a pretty good movie, and I enjoyed it. Take your friends and family, your teens will really enjoy it. If your an adult reading this you’re probably going to enjoy the story line more than anything else. This year is a great year for movies and books alike, which means you will be seeing more reviews, and more of my face on YouTube so stay tuned there! Make sure that you follow me on Twitter and like me on Facebook and please subscribe!! Until next time this is The D-Dan Reviews!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

