Skip to content

Transpose

July 11, 2014

transposeHello everybody and welcome to The D-Dan Reviews! Boy do I have a good one for you today. Coming from the youngest director in the DMV area, Jimmy Jenkins brings you Transpose! This movie is about how in the essence of time and unfortunate circumstances, the paths of two families intersect forever. Placed in two makeshift hospital rooms, their lives come crashing down as they realize they have nowhere to go and nowhere to turn. Little do they know, the answers to both there problems are right next to each other.

Now I went to the Magic Johnson Theatre yesterday to see the premier showing of this movie! I sat with the media so I got to do an interview with the director and let me just say this guy knew what he was doing! Now this premier had 500+ people there, so for everyone else who hadn’t seen this movie, its a primarily Christian based movie and Jimmy knew exactly what audience he was catering to.  Within in the movie there were a lot of religious easter eggs, symbolic things and people, and of course a lot of mentioning of God and scripture. So if your apart of the secular community I’m not sure exactly how this movie will make you feel. But religious or not this movie will make you feel!

For a low budget movie it was pretty good! Sure there were a few bad cuts, maybe some of the scenes weren’t perfect, but I appreciate the way the story was told and the lessons I drew from this movie. I could see scene by scene, the mental struggle of a non religious man born in a religious community, and all he wants to do is get away from God but he can’t because it’s a time where he needs him the most. I grew to love his character Jack Stone (Lawrence Bailey), and I think the religious community will grow an attachment to him as well.

All in all I’d give this movie THE BOMB(4out of 5)!! Its a good family movie especially if you’re a religious person, if your not then I still think you might enjoy it or if anything, take a lesson out of it! Most importantly, I think everyone will feel something for this movie and that’s what the director was going for. Make sure to come back later to see my review for Dawn of the Planet of the Apes. Also make sure to follow me on Facebook and Twitter. Also like to ask each and everyone of you to go to www.gofundme.com/9yedwo and help out thee four teens trying to raise money to compete in the national ACT-SO competition  by the NAACP. Well that’s it! Until next time, this is The D-Dan Reviews!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

