Skip to content

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

July 13, 2014

dawn of the planet of the apesWhat’s up everybody! Today I’m doing a review on the widely recognized Dawn of the Planet of the Apes!! For those who don’t know, this movie is how a growing nation of genetically evolved apes led by Caesar is threatened by a band of human survivors of the devastating virus unleashed a decade earlier.

Now I’m sure that most everyone knows this, but this is actually the second movie in the series. The first one is Rise of The Planet of the Apes and I did a review for that one as well so just click the link to read it! Now I walked into that theatre with really high expectations. Let me just say, I walked out of the theatre with  my expectations met and exceeded!! What can I say, I loved it! Now I already expected it to be great, and it was even better than that! The thing I appreciated the most from the movie was the pace. The movie knew exactly when transition from a slow scene to a more fast paced scene. They did it just right so that I was never bored. I also loved the emotion I saw in each of the ape’s faces. They really made them seem more human which in turn made them a lot scarier.

Also the director really knew how to play on the mood and tone of the scene! Whenever Caesar spoke in the film it was at the right time and made me jump a little because of how intense the moment was. Now the story is a classic tale so I can’t say I loved the story, but as with all movies how you tell the story is what I judge. In this movie’s case, how they told the story was fantastic!

You could clearly see the development of the characters throughout the film and as I said before, the pace was great. Nothing seemed unbelievable or too convenient, and it was all just done really well. There weren’t any loose ends that needed to be tied and I have to give props to Matt Reeves for that.

All in all I’d give this movie a NUCLEAR (5out of 5)!!! It was a great film for the whole family although the movie did drop the F bomb once near the end. Besides that this movie is filled with action, adventure, humor, and of course APES!! So if there making a third one I can’t wait! Keep your eyes open for my next review, which should be Guardians of the Galaxy. Anyway that’s all for today! Until next time this is The D-Dan Reviews!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2014 3:52 pm

    Thank you for the thorough review, Daniel. From your description and the trailer, this version seems a thousand times better than the old version of this tale. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

